May 10, 2015

Carlos Sainz in Spanish Grand Prix

The Spanish driver managed, once again scoring points after a sensational final race in Montmeló

Carlos Sainz: "It was a tricky start to today's race and I was a bit disappointed when I saw that the fifth position from which I had started from didn't last much. But I kept my head down, started to save my tyres early in the race, as I know that our car behaves better with lower fuel, and I managed to extend my stint a bit on the Prime tyres. That enabled me to go for it during the final five laps and go for the last two points. It was a tricky moment: I had DRS and managed to get ahead of Daniil before Turn 1 and crossed the line in ninth position. It's good to add another two points to the team's tally at my first home race." 

Franz Tost (Team Principal): "We had a very good qualifying performance yesterday, finishing fifth and sixth, which meant we started today's race in a good position. In the first stint we were simply too slow on the straight and therefore we couldn't do much to avoid being overtaken by a few of our direct competitors. As in the second stint on Prime tyres we lost too much time, we decided to change our strategy for the last part of the race, where Carlos went out on Option tyres and Max on Prime. This generated a very good fight at the end, especially from Carlos' side, who did a good maneuver against Daniil Kvyat and I think he deserved this ninth position. I'm satisfied with our qualifying performance, but now we have to work and also improve our race pace."

1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1h41m12.555s
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 17.551s
3 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari 45.342s
4 Valtteri Bottas Williams/Mercedes 59.217s
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m00.002s
6 Felipe Massa Williams/Mercedes 1m21.314s
7 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull/Renault 1 Lap
8 Romain Grosjean Lotus/Mercedes 1 Lap
9 Carlos Sainz Toro Rosso/Renault 1 Lap
10 Daniil Kvyat Red Bull/Renault 1 Lap
11 Max Verstappen Toro Rosso/Renault 1 Lap
12 Felipe Nasr Sauber/Ferrari 1 Lap
13 Sergio Perez Force India/Mercedes 1 Lap
14 Marcus Ericsson Sauber/Ferrari 1 Lap
15 Nico Hulkenberg Force India/Mercedes 1 Lap
16 Jenson Button McLaren/Honda 1 Lap
17 Will Stevens Marussia/Ferrari 3 Laps
18 Roberto Merhi Marussia/Ferrari 4 Laps
- Pastor Maldonado Lotus/Mercedes Retirement
- Fernando Alonso McLaren/Honda Brakes